Twenty-Fourth IEEE Conference on Mass Storage Systems and Technologies



MSST2007 will be a venue for presenting the latest research and development in many aspects of large-scale and long term storage. The conference will focus on three specific challenges for mass storage systems: global-scale distributed storage, long-term data storage and stewardship, and large-scale high-performance storage systems.

Specific areas of interest for MSST2007 include developments in storage technologies such as disk storage, tape storage, clustered storage, and other emerging technologies; advances in high speed global networks and protocols to support storage; security and metadata management in global-scale, high-performance, and archival storage; techniques for building scalable storage systems; approaches to long-term data preservation and management; and performance modeling and analysis of large storage systems. "Idea" papers that discuss potential approaches, proof-of-concept papers that show the effectiveness of potentially limited-scale implementations, papers that describe real-world experience with large-scale storage systems are all welcome.

How to Participate

We encourage participation by individuals and organizations with research or practical experience, including government and commercial users, universities, research laboratories, and early adopters. We invite submissions of technical papers, tutorial proposals, short paper/poster presentations, and vendor briefings. For more information please visit <u>http://storageconference.org/2007/</u>

Technical Papers and Poster Presentations: Submit a full 8-14 page paper or short 3-5 page paper online at http://msst07.ssrc.ucsc.edu/msst07/ by April 30, 2007. Papers should be in two columns with 10 point font and should be in PDF; specific formatting details are available at the submission site. All papers will receive full, detailed reviews from at least 3 PC members (in contrast to previous conferences), with acceptance notification provided by June 22, 2007. Final camera-ready papers, incorporating reviewer comments, must be submitted in PDF format no later than July 20, 2007, and must conform to the formatting standards described in the Author's Kit, which will be available at the conference site. Full 8-14 page papers will be considered for both full 30 minute presentations and the poster session; please indicate on your submission form if you do not want your paper to be considered for the poster session. Short paper submissions of 3-5 pages in length will only be considered for the poster session. Questions about technical papers may be directed to the program chair, Ethan Miller, at pcchair07@storageconference.org.

Tutorial Proposals: There will be several tutorial sessions at MSST held on September 24, 2007. Submit outlines of half- or full-day tutorials, with material to be covered and a biography of the proposed tutorial presenter by April 30, 2007 via email to <u>tutorial07@storageconference.org</u>.

Vendor Briefings: We will provide a block of time during the conference for vendors to present information addressing the conference theme. Submit a 3-5 page abstract by April 30, 2007 via email to <u>vendor07@storageconference.org</u>.

Vendor Expo: Space for vendor product exhibits will be assigned in the order reservations are received. Space is limited. Vendor inter-operability demonstrations are encouraged. To register and to discuss facilities and cost, contact the Vendor Expo Chair, Ben Kobler, at <u>ben.kobler@nasa.gov</u>.

Questions that aren't covered by specific people listed above may be directed to James Hughes, the general chair, at <u>generalchair07@storageconference.org</u>.

Conference Committee:

General chair:	James Hughes, Sun Microsystems
Program chair:	Ethan L. Miller, University of California, Santa Cruz
Vendor Expo chair:	Ben Kobler, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Program committee:

Ahmed Amer,	University of Pittsburgh
Curtis Anderson,	Data Domain
Jean-Jacques Bedet,	Adnet Systems
Greg Bronevetsky,	Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Randal Burns,	Johns Hopkins University
Bob Chadduck,	NARA
John Chandy,	University of Connecticut
Jack Cole,	US Army Research Laboratory
Zoran Dimitrijevic,	Google
Gene Harano,	NCAR
James Hughes,	Sun Microsystems
Merritt Jones,	MITRE
Ben Kobler,	NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Reagan Moore,	San Diego Supercomputer Center
James Nunez,	Los Alamos National Laboratory
Matthew O'Keefe,	Cray
Ron Oldfield,	Sandia National Laboratory
Tom Ruwart,	University of Minnesota
Julian Satran,	IBM Haifa Research Laboratory, Israel
Thomas Schwarz,	Santa Clara University
Rodney Van Meter,	Keio University, Japan
Theodore Wong,	IBM Research
Jay Wylie,	Hewlett Packard
Qin Xin,	Symantec
Ron Oldfield, Tom Ruwart, Julian Satran, Thomas Schwarz, Rodney Van Meter, Theodore Wong, Jay Wylie,	Sandia National Laboratory University of Minnesota IBM Haifa Research Laboratory, Israel Santa Clara University Keio University, Japan IBM Research Hewlett Packard